Rugby Union World Cup

Rugby Union World Cup 2011

The 2011 Rugby World Cup was won by the hosts and red hot favourites New Zealand after they beat France 8-7 in a tense Final at Eden Park in Auckland. The tournament featured 20 teams

England were placed in Pool B with the majority of their games taking place at Lancaster Park in Christchurch but they faced Scotland at the newly upgraded Eden Park Stadium in Auckland. England were knocked out in the quarter finals by France.

2011 Rugby World Cup Odds

Hosts New Zealand are the hot favourites in the 2011 Rugby World Cup Odds. Home advantage will only amplify the pressure on The All Blacks and the likes of Australia and South Africa will be hoping to capitalise on New Zealand's characteristic fragility in World Cups.

England will hope their recent 6 Nations victory can inspire them in this year's World Cup. England have performed very well in the last two World Cups having won it in 2003 and finished as the surprise runners-up in 2007.

Rugby World Cup Pools

Pool A: Canada, France, Japan, New Zealand, Tonga

Pool B: Argentina, England, Georgia, Romania, Scotland

Pool C: Australia, Ireland, Italy, Russia, USA

Pool D: Fiji, Namibia, Samoa, South Africa, Wales