Rugby League World Cup

Rugby League World Cup

The 14th Rugby League World Cup will take place in the United Kingdom in 2013, it was last held in the United Kingdom in 2000 when it was jointly hosted by France and the United Kingdom and it was won by Australia who defeated fellow Southern Hemisphere side New Zealand 40-12 in the final that was held at the Old Trafford ground in Manchester.

Along with the Four Nations it is hoped that this competition will help raise the profile of Rugby League around the world.

The tournament will this time feature 14 teams; an increase of 4 from the previous World Cup in 2008 and 20 teams will be involved in qualification for the event.


There will be 12 nations that will automatically qualify for the 2013 tournament that will include the 10 teams that took part in the 2008 World Cup and Wales as winners of the 2009 European Nations Cup and one team yet to be decided. There will then be two pool of qualification for the remaining two places which will be a Pacific/Americas pool and a European pool with 1 side from each pool qualifying.

Qualified Teams